## Israeli public figures call on the remaining EU Member States, the UK, and other states to recognize the State of Palestine without delay

## 7 May 2024

In the wake of the brutal Hamas massacre on 7 October and Israel's ensuing destruction of lives and infrastructure in the Gaza Strip, we, Israelis committed to the democratic future of the two peoples, are convinced that the international community must take clear action toward the realization of the two-state solution. Recognition of the State of Palestine as a full member of the United Nations would be an important step along this road.

The recognition of a Palestinian state is a matter of principle and historic justice. It is also a way to bring back a chance for quiet in this war-torn region. Such a significant diplomatic endeavor would remove the ambiguity that had tainted the entire "peace process" from its inception, put diplomacy back on track, and force the parties to the conflict, as well as the main international actors, to meet their responsibilities.

In this regard, we welcome reports that Spain, Ireland, Malta, and Slovenia intend to soon announce their recognition of the State of Palestine and to support its full membership in the United Nations.

We call on the remaining EU Member States, the UK, and other states to follow suit as an important step toward achieving the two-state solution. This war must not become yet another chapter in the long history of violence between Israelis and Palestinians. There is no better way to restore faith in diplomacy than recognizing the State of Palestine now.

Prof. Elie Barnavi, former Israeli Ambassador to France

Ilan Baruch, former Israeli Ambassador to South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, and Zimbabwe

Michael Ben-Yair, former Attorney General of Israel; former Acting Supreme Court Judge

Avraham Burg, former Speaker of Knesset; former Head of the Jewish Agency

Prof. Naomi Chazan, former Deputy Speaker of Knesset

Prof. Itzhak Galnoor, former Head of the Israeli Civil Service Commission

Zehava Galon, former Member of Knesset; former Chair of Meretz Party

Prof. Oded Goldreich, Israel Prize Recipient (2021)

Prof. Moty Heiblum, EMET Prize Recipient (2014)

Prof. Eva Illouz, former President of Bezalel Academy of Art and Design

Prof. Miki Kratsman, EMET Prize Laureate (2011)

Alex Levac, Israel Prize Recipient (2005)

**Dr. Alon Liel**, former Director-General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; former Ambassador to South Africa and Turkey

Prof. Kobi Metzer, former President of the Open University of Israel

Prof. Yoram Peri, former Political Advisor to Yitzchak Rabin

Mossi Raz, former Member of Knesset

Prof. Sarah Stroumsa, former Rector of the Hebrew University