The Shimon Even Award (at WIS)

Shimon Even was born in Israel on June 15th, 1935. He died on May 1st, 2004.
In addition to his pioneering research contributions (most notably to Graph Algorithms and Cryptography), Shimon is known for having been a highly influential educator. He played a major role in establishing computer science education in Israel (e.g., at the Weizmann Institute and the Technion). He served as a source of professional inspiration and as a role model for generations of young students and researchers.

To commemorate Shimon Even, funds have been created for the purpose of handing awards to graduate students in Theoretical Computer Science. Unfortunately, due to various regulations, it was not possible to pursue the original intension of having a single Israeli-wide award. Instead, two awards were established, one confined to students at Weizmann Institute and the other confined to students at the Technion. Each award is administrated by the corresponding institute.

The SHIMON EVEN AWARD (at WIS) was first handed in 2006, and is scheduled to be given every second year.
The list of winners to date consists of:

The basic format of the call for nomination follows.

The Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science announces:

The Shimon Even Prize in Theoretical Computer Science

The prize was donated by Friends of the late Professor Shimon Even jointly with the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, in honor and memory of Professor Shimon Even, a former member of the Faculty, for his contributions to education and developments in Theoretical Computer Science.

The prize money in the amount of $1000 will be granted to a doctoral student at The Weizmann Institute. The prize will be given for research achievements in Theoretical Computer Science. The winner can spend the money on any research related activity or instrument, according to the Institute's regulations.

Applications are to be submitted by the candidate's supervisor to the Dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science. Please provide the following:
1. Letter of recommendation, written by the candidate's advisor.
2. The candidate's CV and list of publications.
3. Description of the candidate's research achievements.

Please send the material by E-mail (pdf format) to Carol Weintraub (Carol.Weintraub at by early January of the year of the award. The winner will be chosen by a committee appointed by the Dean of the Faculty shortly thereafter.

To the main memorial page for Shimon Even or back to Oded Goldreich's homepage.